Posted by: mylittlesnow | January 13, 2009

One last trick to save you Windows Vista system…

If you guys wonder where i was up to lately, well, i was actually frantically trying to save my Windows system. Out of the blue, as usual, like a yearly occurance for me, my PC just crashed a few days ago. And this time, i was very adamant not to just reformat my PC and reinstall my Windows Vista all over again, for personal reason, i have some very precious photos inside my C drive.

You see, my system is able to boot up but the problem is, an error msg appeared right before booting into Windows, where it stated that it appears there were some hardware changes etc yada yada. I could not even choose the option to start my Windows in safe mode or even run on last known good configuration. The only option given to me was to run Windows Vista installation disk and try the ‘Repair’ option. Well, i did that exactly, a few times in fact! And after a couple of runs, it didn’t work as well. My PC is still having the same problem and i simply could not boot into Windows Vista.

So actually i took another HDD and installed a fresh copy of Vista, the idea is to later hook up my previous C drive to copy information over. At first, i connect my old C drive using external USB and it didn’t seem to work. I thought to myself, that’s it. My precious stuff inside will be all gone. And then somehow, i just decided to try again, but this time, to connect my old C drive directly at my Sata bay. And this turned out to be the solution for my problem! At first, my new Vista booted up very slowly and then suddenly i received a msg, prompting me to run CHKDSK on my E drive, which is my old C drive. And then i just let it run and truly, there were lots of errors detected. And after that, my new Vista booted normally and i was able to detect my old C drive again.

That got me thinking, hmm, why not just try booting up my old C drive again, and i did just that. And you know what, my old C drive booted up perfectly, just like the way it is !!! Gosh, i’m so glad that i was able to retrieve back my old C drive. Lots of apps installed, lots of pics and lots of stuff. I’m just too tired to try reinstall everything again, cause i’ve been doing that almost at least once a year. šŸ™‚ So to anyone of you out there who’s having the same ‘symptom’ as mine, where the only option is to run Windows Repair, then you might want to consider trying out this trick to recover your system! šŸ™‚ Cheers!

Responses

  1. congrats, and I am a bit yealous šŸ˜€
    I have 3 PC’s waiting for my magic head and fingers to somehow repair them and get rid of BSOD’s šŸ˜€
    You should copy your files on another hdd or flash šŸ™‚ just in case it will crash again šŸ™‚

    • what’s wrong with 3 of your PCs dude?

  2. have no idea šŸ™‚ just Blue screen appears frequently…
    maybe warranty or format is awaiting for them šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

