Posted by: mylittlesnow | July 24, 2008

7.7% inflation at Malaysia? I don’t think so…

Me no graduate in economy, me know nuts about economy. But when me read today’s news on CPI for June surges to 7.7% at Malaysia, me thinks it’s wrong wrong. You see, recently, the Teh P’ng at me place already gone up from RM1.00 to RM1.20 or some place still charging around RM1.10. Even if me takes the 10cent increase, that will be 10% increase. And last weekend when me eat the nice Karipap with lotsa bawang, it cost RM1.50 now compare to RM1.00 previously. Some still selling at RM1.20. Even assuming RM1.20 vs RM1.00, that’s 20% increase. And moments ago, i ate pohpiah for dinner, RM2.20 now vs RM2.00 previously, that’s another 10% increase. And for the petrol, everyone knows how much it goes up and it’s definitely not 7.7%. Oh yeah, sometime around end of June, i was checking out on the price of mattress and i was told that from 1st July onwards, price will definitely increase from a range of 15% to 30%.

So what went wrong? Can someone tell me how do they come out with the 7.7% numbers as what me said, me a dum dum when it comes to finance/economics. Arigato…

Responses

  1. me oso dumb dumb when talk economic. but i think 7.7% is correct la.. cos this few years inflation rate was quite steady at ~5% like dat. i think CPI not just affected by our daily expenses, but also property etc. so if no increase in property yet, CPI might hover around 7.7% still. duno la… better google google la like this.


Leave a Reply

Categories

